top of page
Search
  • dyamisliepienis

Barnes and Noble Nook Books Free Friday: Tips and Tricks for Getting the Most Out of It



There's no denying that Barnes & Noble's Nook business has faced challenges lately. The bookseller may, however, have an extra trick up its sleeve to keep e-reader buyers coming back. Taking a page from the likes of Apple and Amazon, it's expanding Nook Free Fridays to include apps in addition to books. The gesture effectively doubles the volume of free loot each week as long as you've got a tablet like a Nook HD or HD+. Barnes & Noble isn't modest in kicking off the giveaway, either -- the inaugural deal is OfficeSuite Professional 7, which would normally carry a $15 price tag. Although the bargains might not be enough to trigger switches for those well-entrenched in Amazon's world, they could well stop any wandering eyes among Nook owners.


10. CDs and DVDs are going virtual much faster than books. And for all the interest in libraries providing ebook rental nobody is talking about libraries providing free music of video streaming. That will never happen.




barnes and noble nook books free friday




Barnes & Noble Inc.'s Nook Tablet electronic device will begin arriving in stores and homes on Wednesday, one day ahead of schedule. googletag.cmd.push(function() googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1449240174198-2'); ); The move comes just after Amazon.com Inc. began shipping its similar Kindle Fire device on Monday, also a day ahead of schedule. Both hope their souped-up tablet-like e-readers will be popular gifts this holiday season.Apple Inc.'s iPad has so far dominated the tablet market. That device starts at $499. Nook Tablet is selling for $249 and Amazon's Kindle Fire sells for $199.Since introducing its first Nook in 2009, Barnes & Noble has spent heavily on its e-book readers and e-bookstore.Unlike Amazon, Barnes & Noble doesn't offer its own streaming services, but the Nook includes preloaded software from Hulu and Netflix Inc. to let users watch movies and TV shows through those subscription services.The Nook Tablet weighs less than a pound, has a battery that enables nine hours of video watching and comes with 16 gigabytes of memory and an SD slot to add more. It runs on Google Inc.'s Android system for mobile devices.The company also offers free customer service at the more than 700 Barnes & Noble stores, something CEO William Lynch points out that Amazon as an online retailer cannot do.The Nook Tablet is being sold online, in Barnes & Noble stores and by a variety of other retailers, including Target, Best Buy, Staples and Fry's.As people change the way they read, Barnes & Noble faces tough competition from discounters and online retailers in the market for traditional books. Barnes & Noble, which is based in New York, has struggled to turn a profit. Its much smaller rival, Borders Group Inc., sought bankruptcy protection and then liquidated its assets this year.In its most recent quarter, Barnes & Noble reported a narrower loss than a year earlier as its revenue edged up 2 percent to $1.42 billion. 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


OK reading this blog made me go back and buy Wickedly charming on Barnes and Noble. I agree with you when I am looking for something to read I start with my favorite authors of which you are definitely one. Then I go to B & N free nook books then b & N nook books under $5. After I read a book I make sure I rate and write a review of the book on b & n website. I think that for those looking for something new to read if no one has done that before you makes it harder to decide if you want to try the book. I discovered the Retrieval Artist series at Thanksgiving and have read all titles in the series at this point. Right now I am reading your book Traitors then I have Wickedly Charming and Fey:Destiny waiting to be read. I also agree that I prefer the series read over just a stand alone book. I tend to go through the whole series before I will go back to look through my list of favorite authors and I put on my nook wish list the titles coming up so that I do not miss the next book in the series.I do not know if my behavior is typical of the e book reader or not but this is what I do.


WRT nook, it might be their user unfrienliness. I tried getting a book some weeks ago and ended up filtering their mails as spam. I still receive more mails from them than from my other 5 e-bookstores combined. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page